14 Days Out?

by erics1100paces

So it looks like I am now leaving on the 26th.  My boss wants me in town for a hearing on the 25th.  The first contract in Shanghai starts on the 22nd.   Apparently, it has become non-critical that I be there for the outset of that undertaking.  My second in command will get that rolling without me, I guess.  The other contract in Shanghai starts on the 1st.

Anyhow, it’s pretty awkward.  I’ve gone through all this “I’m off to China for several months,” stuff, and gotten all my “bon voyages” and such, and now it’s like, “are you still here?”  In my meeting this morning, I spoke just long enough to explain why I wasn’t en route at that moment.  I explained that I’d definitely be leaving on the 17th, even detailing how my boss told me there would be no changing the plane ticket a second time.

Tomorrow, I’ll have to go update folks again.  Sigh.  But, to be honest, I’m pretty happy about the delay.  I’ll be able to pick up a 60 day chip at my home group.  Provided I avoid alcohol between now and then, of course, which seems pretty certain.

