Step Three

by erics1100paces

Step three?  No problem.  I’ve already made the decision to turn my will and my life over to the care of God as I understand him.  Except for one thing.  Cigarettes.  I’m still afraid that if I turn my life over to God, I’ll learn from Him that it is His will that I quit smoking.  I hear a lot of people talk about sugar and coffee.  My God doesn’t seem to care about those things, as far as I can tell at the moment.  But I don’t think He likes cigarettes, and I’m awfully attached to them.  But my sponsor says that making a decision to do something isn’t the same as actually doing it.  So I think that it’s not really an issue until I get to, “humbly asked God to remove all our shortcomings.”  When I get there, I’m going to probably end up whispering “…except cigarettes.  Shhh.  Just let me keep that one, k?  It’ll be our little secret.”

Oh, for the love of Sir Walter Raleigh!

Oh, for the love of Sir Walter Raleigh!

