Oh Reason Magazine

by erics1100paces

So I regularly read Reason magazine online.  I’m a fairly libertarian guy.  I’ve been reading it less of late, just because it makes me angry at the cops or the government, and I don’t really need that.  Anyhow, they put up an article yesterday that lambasted AA and the disease model of alcoholism.  If this were a few weeks ago, I’d quote extensively from the article here, and rip it to pieces, point by point.  I’d go full blast debate on it, establish two frameworks – utilitarian and deontological – and go “down the flow,” as they say, providing direct rebuttals, link turns, and impact turns on every single bit of fucking garbage contained therein.  I’d win on both frameworks, and I’d send my thoughts to the author, pointing out to him that I had done so, and that I had done so in a way equivalent to bending him over and shoving his idiocy up his ass, then turning it sideways, and then shoving his face up there so he could see it, and then making him write me a letter thanking me for teaching him a lesson.  As you can probably tell, I’m still sorely tempted to do so.  This motherfucker deserves full blast Eric, frankly.

However,  I won’t let it rent that much space in my head.  I won’t even link to the article.  You can find it easily enough if you wish.  I’ll just offer one simple observation.  This foundational premise of the article seems to be that AA’s understanding of alcoholism – that an alcoholic cannot learn to moderate his or her drinking – creates and/or magnifies the very condition to which it offers a solution.  As in, if AA hadn’t drilled into my head that I couldn’t control my drinking, I’d be able to control it.

I’ve never heard anything so ridiculous in my life.

