My Big Book

by erics1100paces

The other night at the Donut King, I thought, maybe when I leave Shanghai, I’ll donate my big book to the donut meeting.  There are never enough copies for everyone, and I seem to be the only one who brings his own copy.  Then that thought passed and the meeting ended and I went down into the subway.  I just missed the train, so I had to wait 3 and 1/2 minutes for the next one, so I flipped through the book reading bits from here and there.  The train came and I boarded and continued my casual exploration of the text, noting all the sections I had underlined those first couple of weeks, and finding the process very interesting.  I didn’t recall very well that which I had read at the beginning, given that I was rather addled at the time, and that my THC levels were through the roof.  I haven’t done much if any underlining since, so it was cool to see what I had designated as significant a couple of months ago.  It didn’t occur to me until I was walking from my stop to my apartment.  Hell no you don’t give away your book.  That’s all marked up and dog-eared for a reason.  It’s a history of your recovery, and a resource, and an object infused with personal spiritual energy.  If you want to donate to a big book, Eric, buy a fresh copy and donate that.

