“And I won’t forget…”

by erics1100paces

To my beloved wife:

Towards the end of my run, our song was Case of You by Joni Mitchell.  I sang it, and played it on YouTube, and we cried.

 

Just before our love got lost, you said, ‘I am as constant as the northern star.”  Constantly in the darkness, where’s that at?…  she knew your life, she knew your devils and your dreams, and she said, ‘Go to him.  Stay with him if you can, but be prepared to bleed.’

You knew my constancy.  I would never waver on us.  I knew your love.  I would remain forever in your blood.   But we both knew you couldn’t stay with me much longer; that you had little blood left to give.

That song, beautiful and sad, is not our song.

Our song, I first sang to you at Taix some ten years past.  And we played it at our wedding, and we played it many times in the years since, until barely a flicker of its message remained.  But it never went out, and I sing it again to you now.

This will be our year, took a long time to come.

 

