Wherever 2 or 3 are gathered

by erics1100paces

One thing about AA in Shanghai.  It affords me opportunities to experience aspects of the program I’d likely never experience at home.  I went to the morning meeting today, and sat by myself for a while.  Well, I figured, if no one else shows up, I’ll do my reading assignment.  (I’ve been tasked with reading the first 165 pages of the BB.  For some reason, my sponsor thinks I should actually read the thing 😉 )

Then a guy walks in.  Day 1.  And that’s it.  Just he and I.  The meeting chair didn’t show up today.  So this guy wasn’t brand new or anything.  He had more program experience than I for sure.  But he was a bit of a mess, coming in hungover, straight off a relapse.

I did the best I could.  We read the intro stuff.   I “chaired the meeting,” and he “led the meeting.”  After he talked, I talked a bit.  Then we went to the smoking balcony and talked for quite a while.

I’m not sure if I was able to help him much, but he helped me.  I did no harm, I’m confident of that.  Mostly just repeated stuff K has said to me.  The old HP didn’t throw that situation at me until I and my 16 days at least wouldn’t make the situation worse.

