Well, there goes my Wednesday night meeting post

by erics1100paces

I was going to talk about the Wednesday night meeting.  Instead, I’m now googling “the risks of untreated tooth infections,” “how many people die from untreated tooth infections,” and so forth.  I just took two Azitromycins, and will take 1 daily for the next 4 days, which is how the prescription indicates these pills should be taken.  Granted, it’s not my prescription, but I’ve got an infection, and antibiotics kill infections, and the regimen should be the same regardless of the nature of the infection.

The problem for me is the cost.  It seems to me that dental work shouldn’t cost so much.  A thousand dollars a tooth is too much.  Three hundred dollars for x-rays and a consultation is too much.  If I’m going to spend three thousand dollars on something, it seems to me I should get something I like.  I don’t like root canals.  Having said that, I do like being alive.  So, hell.  I don’t know.  I guess I’ll take the antibiotics for the next four days and see what happens.  At that point, if it still feels infected, maybe I’ll go to the dentist.  I want option three: ignore teeth and they just get better on their own.  Unfortunately, that’s not how it works.  I guess I don’t get to decide what “life’s terms” are.  That’s why they aren’t called, “Eric’s terms.”

 

