Narrator reliability

by erics1100paces

I’ve been telling my story here since early February – every word is part of that story.  So why exactly do I feel as though my story begins at post 100?  I think its about narrator reliability.

A particularly slick type of short story features the “unreliable narrator.”  It’s a work in which the reader, at some point near the end of the tale, begins to doubt the veracity of the narrator.  This is an odd construction because the reader has nobody else upon whom to rely but the narrator.  The narrator provides the whole of the narrative universe, defines its parameters, determines its laws, its purpose, its everything.

I have been an unreliable narrator.  Not the slick fiction kind, of course.  It’s just that I’ve been too governed by fear to be trusted.  However, said unreliability is a critical part of my story.  And I am still an unreliable narrator, though for different reasons, and now more conscious of, and explicit in, my own unreliability.

And that’s one to grow on.

 

