The Penultimate Donut King

by erics1100paces

Well, it was the second to last Donut King meeting for me.  During the AA announcements part, I said, “next week’s the last week for my donut buying commitment, so we’ll need to find someone to take that over.”

The issue tonight, however, was that the chair was sick, and she had called in someone to cover for her.  This meant no books, so we had a discussion meeting instead.  J offered the topic of One Day at a Time, which I found interesting enough, as I’ve been thinking a lot about the role of timeframe as it relates to the third step.  The problem is that I kind of feel that I resolved the issue with my sponsor on the phone last night, and still shared about it as though it were a more actively unresolved issue than it is, which felt kind of dishonest.  But I generally had trouble getting out of my head tonight; I was pretty stuck in work mode.  I’ve spent the last two days in Wuxi, trying to put together a work project that has gotten much crazier and more complicated than it ever should have, as various parties have made… whatever.  I’m enjoying the kookiness of the whole thing, actually, but it also tends to encourage what my sponsor calls “monkey mind.”

The absence of the regular chair (who is herself a replacement for the actual regular chair, who’s gone out of the country temporarily) also meant no chips.  I was hoping to pick up my the third of my trinity of thirty day chips from the Donut King, but c’est la vie, as the French say.  I’ll get it at the early meeting tomorrow, provided I get up in time.  I might not, because I plan to stay up another hour so that I can call my sponsor, and by the time we’re done talking, I suspect I won’t actually hit the sack until close to midnight.

Bottom line is that this has been and will continue to be a very busy week for me.  But like tonight’s meeting topic says, I’m going to try to take it in chunks no larger than 24 hours.

