Assorted thoughts Monday part two

by erics1100paces

This excellent post by Paul at Message in a Bottle got me thinking about the medium.  I hope eventually to implement the amount of consideration he shows to his readers.  His writing is edited down, and he breaks up the text with pictures, provides headings, and generally makes the experience as reader-friendly as possible.  If you are among the small group of people who visits this blog regularly, then you already know.  I don’t do that.  I should, but I don’t.  It’s among the things that bounced around my head during my taxi ride to, and my subway ride back from, the meeting this morning.  At the moment, I’m at the conclusion that I still just want to get words out.  Once thoughts are spilled here, they seem to occupy much less head space, and to basically be settled matters.  It’s interesting the way that works.  There’s no particularly good reason I can come up with as to why typing out thoughts should more or less relieve me of those thoughts, but that’s how it seems to work.  And I do think that relieve is the right word.  Most thoughts seem to be burdensome, even if they are neutral or even positive.

Here are some headings.  Today’s random thoughts format lends itself to them.

Prayer grammar:

I figured something out on the subway, while considering the construction of the third step prayer.  In Spanish they have a formal “you,” and an informal “you.”  English has an “usted” (formal) also, it’s just deprecated as we have defaulted to using “tu” (informal) for everything.  Our “usted” is “thou.”  And, unlike “you,” “thou” changes in the nominative and objective case.  “Thou” is the subject pronoun (nominative), as in “Thou should eat more cheese.”  “Thee” is objective: “I give my cheese to thee.”  “Thy,” is the possessive adjective: “This is thy cheese.”  “Thine” is the possessive pronoun:  “This cheese is thine.”  And “Thyself” is the intensive/reflexive form: “Make thyself a cheese sandwich.”

I think that’s interesting.

Yoga:

I talked to a newcomer, M, after the morning meeting about yoga.  He mentioned a quote about practice and theory from some famous yoga guy that intrigued me.  I couldn’t remember the exact wording when I got home, however, so I googled what I recalled.  I believe I found that to which he referred.   It’s a really compelling short article, just packed full of ideas, and dressed in fancy talk, which makes it more palatable to my mental taste buds.  I’m struck by many things in this link, but here are a couple that particularly stand out.

The opposite of practice is not therefore theory, since practice in fact includes theory. The opposite of practice is only “theory” which has no connection with practice, the simple imaginings of a limited consciousness.

And how about this bad boy:

…man is the only creative being. So much is he a creature* being that his very being and essence are subject to his creation.

Lastly, take a look at this one.

“Practice” is something which essentially determines the character of man’s existence. Here lies his ontological-anthropological meaning. 

For someone burdened with my biases, throw in the word “ontology,” and “yoga,” (towards which I’m reflexively dismissive despite a complete lack of knowledge on the subject) gets more considered attention from me.

Happy birthday Kevin:

Today’s my sponsor’s sober b-day.  He’s into yoga.  K, please consider my above acknowledgement of yoga to be a text-cake for you on this special day.  And happy Easter too, while we are at it to all the folks living in the past (in the US).

_____

OK, off to buy souvenirs now.  Have a great day everyone.  I’ll probably be back with more thoughts later.  If I don’t dump there here, they clog up my brain.

___________________________

*That has to be a typo.  It should say “creative,” not “creature.”  But I could be wrong about that, so I’ll leave it as it is written in the link.

