1100 Paces

Sober in Shanghai, Sober in LA

Stages of development

I want to put this on Facebook, just to start fights with all of my hyper-rational atheist friends; aka, everyone I know.

Teenagers and college kids should totally be atheists.  It’s a necessary stage of development.

But if I’m going to do it, I better hurry, because I then thought:

People in their first 90 days should totally put dumb shit like that on Facebook.  It’s a necessary stage of development.

Nah.  I’ll just put it here instead.

Not exactly homesick, but…

I miss my wife.  Sure, I miss hanging out and talking about our day and stuff, but I miss my wife, if you know what I mean.  Another 5 weeks?  Really?!

Step Three

Step three?  No problem.  I’ve already made the decision to turn my will and my life over to the care of God as I understand him.  Except for one thing.  Cigarettes.  I’m still afraid that if I turn my life over to God, I’ll learn from Him that it is His will that I quit smoking.  I hear a lot of people talk about sugar and coffee.  My God doesn’t seem to care about those things, as far as I can tell at the moment.  But I don’t think He likes cigarettes, and I’m awfully attached to them.  But my sponsor says that making a decision to do something isn’t the same as actually doing it.  So I think that it’s not really an issue until I get to, “humbly asked God to remove all our shortcomings.”  When I get there, I’m going to probably end up whispering “…except cigarettes.  Shhh.  Just let me keep that one, k?  It’ll be our little secret.”

Oh, for the love of Sir Walter Raleigh!

Oh, for the love of Sir Walter Raleigh!

themiracleisaroundthecorner

There are no coincidences.

A Walk on the Wild Side

For those who love addicts

Without You - My Escape From Alcohol

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Natalie's Artistic Process (NAP)

Just another WordPress.com site

The Sober Journalist

A blog about quietly getting sober

The Soberist Blog

a life in progress ... sans alcohol

Carrie On Sober

A blog to help keep me on the right track...

Sober Something

Personal Musings of My Journey To and Through Recovery

barista1971

A topnotch WordPress.com site

No Shame in Asking

A Memoir of Sober Living

Al K Hall-ic Anonymous

Get With The Program.

The Existential Addict

One choice at a time...

1100 Paces

Sober in Shanghai, Sober in LA